

# RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Monday, 11 March 2024 at 11.00 am.

This meeting was live streamed, details of which can be accessed here

# County Borough Councillors: -

Councillor R Lewis (Chair)

Councillor G Stacey Councillor J Brencher Councillor S Evans Councillor S Hickman

### Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, Senior Manager of Governor Support and Emergency Planning

### 12 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

**RESOLVED –** In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interests in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared: -

County Borough Councillor R. Lewis in respect of agenda item 4, "I'm a Governor at Y.G.G. Abercynon and will leave the meeting when then item is discussed".

County Borough Councillor S. Evans in respect of agenda item 4, "I'm a Governor at Parc Primary School and will leave the meeting when then item is discussed".

#### 13 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 29<sup>th</sup> November 2023 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

### 14 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION: -

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# 15 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the Senior Manager of Governor Support Emergency Planning and advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, five applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below, subject to applications for Pontyclun Primary School and Bryncelynnog Comprehensive School being deferred to the next meeting of the Committee: -

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Blaengwawr Primary	Mrs L Hooper	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Caegarw Primary	CBC L Lewis	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Cefn and Craig Yr Hesg Primary Schools	CBC D Williams	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2024
Cwmbach Community Primary	Mrs P Thomas	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Cymmer Primary	Ms S Thomas	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Dolau Primary	CBC J Turner	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Ffynnon Taf Primary	CBC J Bonetto	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Maerdy Community Primary	Mr J Harries	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Miskin Primary	Mrs L Jex	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Parc Lewis Primary	Ms S Perry	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Parc Primary	CBC S Evans	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor S. Evans left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Parc Primary).

Pengeulan Primary	CBC A Fox	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2024
Penpych Primary	Mr M Cude	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Penyrenglyn Primary	Miss N Pickens	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mr G Morgan	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mrs S M Duggan	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Williamstown Primary	Rev. S Rogers	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
YGG Abercynon	CBC R Lewis	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor R. Lewis left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at YGG Abercynon).

YGG Evan James	Mr A Williams	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
YGG Ynyswen	Mrs G Davies	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Ysgol Llanhari	Mr S Poole	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Aberdare Community	Mr D Howells	11 <sup>th</sup> March 2024
Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda	Mr B Cradle	20 <sup>th</sup> July 2024

# This meeting closed at 11.19 am

Councillor R Lewis CHAIR.